Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The official Dagenham Rugby Union Football Club app


First Team - Match centre

Dagenham Rugby Union Football Club
Sat 23 Feb 14:00 - Cup Full time

On to the Final !!!!!


Dagenham comfortably beat Billericay to storm to the Presidents Shield Final!!

The rearranged Cup Semi Final on Saturday saw a Dagenham side missing some key players put together a display of control pace and power to comfortably ease past Billericay RFC

Playing up the slope the visitors knew they’d be up against it with Billericay playing there usual forward orientated game and while the early exchanges saw the home side get the upper hand in the tight it wasn’t long before a penalty from Frankie Neale open the scoring at 0-3

This settled the nerves as the Dagenham pack started to get the upper hand.

30 minutes in Neale used some quick thinking and good footwork for the first try of the game, he then slotted the conversion for a 0-10 lead

Some ill discipline by winger Tom Preston resulted in a yellow card but the D’s played out the final 5 minutes of the half without any pressure from Billericay

The second half saw the dominant D’s take control with the home side having very little possession and even less territory and as the game moved into the last 25 minutes Billericays defensive effort fell apart

Lewis Pruce was the next on the score sheet for a lead of 0-15 before his centre partner Billy Driver finished the tie off with a magnificent 4 tries in 20 minutes with Neale converting 3 of them the final score read an impressive 0-41

Today’s performance was one of great effort, determination and patience which paid dividends with a superb win and passage into the Final against Mavericks on 27th April

The Presidents Shield holds great memories for the club having been winners on 4 previous occasions the last being in 2014 against Campion

Great effort lads can’t wait until the 27th April !!!

Team: Jones S, Parkin, Warner J (Rawlinson) Wren G, Kitenge, Viera (Westcot) Darkwa J, Jones J, Cook, Smith, Pruce, Driver, Preston (Matthews), Calverley

Subs not used: Warner C, Wren D, Power

Team selection

Team selection has not been published for this fixture yet.


Loading comments


Club sponsors